//
you're reading...
Business News

Small Businesses Suffer From High Inflation

Small Businesses Suffer From High Inflation

A recent report has revealed that small businesses are being severely hit by the high levels of inflation.

Following a report by small business bank, Aldermore, small businesses are to be the hardest hit by inflation dueto the fact that they lack the influence of larger organisations.

The report suggested that small businesses are growing increasingly more worried about their margins gettingsqueezed as the price they pay for goods rises without them being able to pass on those increases to their customers.

The survey revealed that around 80% of small business owners reported that they were concerned that theirsupplier would force above-inflation costs on them. In spite of this, only 45% felt that they would beable to increase their own prices, driving up business costs and driving down profitability.

The Chief Executive of Aldermore bank, Philip Monks, stated that small businesses are apprehensive that theirnegotiating clout with both suppliers and customers will result in their firm coming off worst due to the current level of inflation.

Mr Monks added:

“Big businesses with dominant market shares are going to find it easier to pass on price increases to their customers and wring concessions out of their smaller suppliers. Unfortunately many small businesses don’t have that kind of negotiating power. Few businesses like inflation but small businesses probably least of all.”

Whilst this news hardly comes as a surprise it is certainly a sure indication that neither the Bank of Englandor the Government are doing enough to help British small businesses. With the Government and Monetary Policy Committee (MPC) keeping interest rates low, VAT high and restricting lending I’m not sure what else they coulddo to make the situation much worse…

Image: renjith krishnan / FreeDigitalPhotos.net

Discussion

16 thoughts on “Small Businesses Suffer From High Inflation

  1. I’m getting a internet browser fault , is somebody else?

    Posted by Rayna Kahalehoe | February 23, 2011, 1:16 am
  2. It was very interesting for me to read that post. Thanx for it. I like such themes and everything that is connected to them. I would like to read a bit more soon.

    Mary Swift

    Posted by Mary Swift | February 24, 2011, 1:50 am
  3. I’ve been attempting on the internet to get a high quality articles or blog posts dealing with this one point . Scouting in Yahoo I finally located this incredible website. After reading this I am truly satisfied to say that I’ve got a fine sense I came across just what I was looking for. I most certainly will be sure to remember this blog and take a visit on a constant basis.

    Posted by natural diabetes treatment | February 24, 2011, 8:49 am
  4. You know what, I never thought of it that way. Makes plenty of sense now. Thanks for explaining it so clearly, it really helped me and I’m sure it will help plenty of other people too. All the best!

    Posted by Janny's Wallpapers | February 24, 2011, 12:32 pm
  5. Brilliant, cheers, I will bookmark you now.

    Posted by walking meditation | February 26, 2011, 4:16 am
  6. I really wanted to type a brief note so as to say thanks to you for those precious hints you are sharing on this site. My extensive internet lookup has at the end been recognized with pleasant concept to talk about with my classmates and friends. I ‘d assume that many of us site visitors are rather lucky to be in a fantastic place with very many perfect professionals with good ideas. I feel somewhat happy to have discovered your entire website page and look forward to so many more excellent times reading here. Thanks a lot once more for all the details.

    Posted by extreme free traffic bonus | February 26, 2011, 5:30 am
  7. Nice piece. I was checking constantly this blog and I am impressed! Very helpful info specially the last part. I care for such info much. I was seeking this certain info for a long time. Thank you and good luck.

    Posted by Norman Uchytil | February 26, 2011, 11:14 pm
  8. The guidelines you shared here are really useful. Rrt had been such a fun surprise to have that waiting for me after i woke up this very day. They are constantly to the point and straightforward to learn. Thanks a ton for the valuable ideas you have shared right here.

    Posted by cellulean reviews | February 27, 2011, 1:18 am
  9. I like this post, enjoyed this one appreciate it for putting up.

    Posted by Lashawnda Amelang | February 27, 2011, 5:41 am
  10. I couldn’t have really asked for an even better blog. You are ever present to give excellent tips, going on to the point for straightforward understanding of your target audience. You’re surely a terrific professional in this area. Thank you for always being there guys like me.

    Posted by scholarships for women | February 27, 2011, 1:01 pm
  11. Great Post! It’s very nice to read this info from someone that actually knows what they are talking about.

    Posted by cheap seo services | February 27, 2011, 5:31 pm
  12. great web site yo have here

    Posted by Karry Gawlas | February 28, 2011, 7:27 am
  13. Lol it’s true good insight there friend. I’ll probably keep coming back for your articles.

    Posted by Bankruptcy Attorneys Birmingham | February 28, 2011, 9:45 am
  14. Thank you so much for providing individuals with an extraordinarily brilliant opportunity to discover important secrets from this web site. It’s usually very beneficial and as well , jam-packed with amusement for me personally and my office mates to visit your web site not less than 3 times a week to read the fresh things you have got. And definitely, I’m so always motivated with the unbelievable tips you serve. Selected 2 tips in this post are absolutely the best I’ve had.

    Posted by h milagro | March 6, 2011, 2:58 am
  15. One of the examples of this inflation rate occurs when demand is more than supply and here you described very well about entire phenomenon regarding small business facing inflation. Thanks for whole information.

    Posted by barcode software | March 7, 2011, 4:33 am
