//
you're reading...
Business News

HMRC reveal new guidelines for small business owners

HMRC reveal new guidelines for small business owners

New guidelines setout by HM Revenue and Customs (HMRC) will ensure that more small business owner have fewer excuses for erroneous book-keeping.

New guidelines setout by HM Revenue and Customs (HMRC) will ensure that more small business owner have fewer excuses for erroneous book-keeping.

The HMRC have put plans in place to carryout spot-checks at random across 50,000 small businesses in an attempt to clamp down on poor book-keeping and to ensure they keep their financial records in order.

This comes as a stark warning to many small firms around the UK as they could be facing fines of up to £3,000 if any irregularities are discovered and the records fail to meet the minimum standards.

The National Tax Director for Smith & Williamson, Richard Mannion, commented:

“Currently, the tax authorities typically scrutinise an organisation’s tax affairs and record keeping if they believe it has filed an inaccurate tax return and is therefore paying too little tax.”

Mr Mannion went on to add that the new programme means that tax inspectors will be able to focus on current year records “before a tax return is even submitted.”

See below for our top tips on organising your book-keeping:

  1. Ensure you keep invoices, bank statements, details of expenses and of any purchases, etc.
  2. It’s strongly advisable to keep records going back for a minimum of 6 years (if your company has been running that long.
  3. Make sure you stay on top of your record keeping and expenses – this will help to make things easier and make your book-keeping more accurate.
  4. Try to avoid making estimations of amounts – if you have to then ensure you can substantiate it with some suitable evidence.
  5. Try to find a suitable piece of software or book-keeping system to help keep track of invoices, bank statements, etc. This will help ensure you stay up-to-date and on top of any financial issues.

For more help and information, the HMRC have a number of tax tools that could help small business owners to ensure they are filing their tax returns correctly, including:

Discussion

36 thoughts on “HMRC reveal new guidelines for small business owners

  1. You will find a significant quantity of numerous moment’s celebs.Good! Hi, to start with I want to tell you that I follow your blog.

    Posted by MBT shoes sale | March 12, 2011, 7:30 pm
  2. Last month, when i visited your blog i got an error on the mysql server of yours.’*~;.

    Posted by Tact Switch | March 13, 2011, 5:22 am
  3. Hi there, I found your blog via Google while searching for a related topic, your site came up, it looks good. I have bookmarked it in my google bookmarks.

    Posted by fullmovies.com scam | March 13, 2011, 7:57 am
  4. Perhaps you should update the php server on your webhost, WordPress is kinda slow.,””~’

    Posted by Storage Equipment | March 13, 2011, 5:50 pm
  5. I will invite all my friends to your blog, you really got a great blog.,`,.’

    Posted by Network Switch | March 14, 2011, 12:14 am
  6. Can I just say what a relief to find someone who actually knows what theyre talking about on the internet. You definitely know how to bring an issue to light and make it important. More people need to read this and understand this side of the stor. I cant believe youre not more popular because you definitely have the gift.

    Posted by sex izle | March 14, 2011, 11:22 am
  7. There is noticeably a bundle to know about this. I assume you made certain nice points in features also.

    Posted by tani hosting stron www | March 14, 2011, 11:45 am
  8. I couldn’t have asked for an even better blog. You are available to provide excellent advice, going right to the point for convenient understanding of your readers. You’re undeniably a terrific expert in this area. Thank you for being there guys like me.

    Posted by zero friction marketing | March 15, 2011, 9:37 am
  9. You seem to be very professional in the way you write.`-*;,

    Posted by Microwave Cart | March 15, 2011, 11:19 am
  10. My friend first found your blog on Google and she referred your blog to me.,-;””

    Posted by Sheer Curtains | March 15, 2011, 6:33 pm
  11. Perhaps you should also a put a forum site on your blog to increase reader interaction.,~’**

    Posted by Thermal Imaging | March 16, 2011, 6:51 am
  12. I really love the way you discuss this kind of topic.,,’;’

    Posted by Tub Chair | March 16, 2011, 2:13 pm
  13. Thank you so much for giving everyone such a remarkable chance to discover important secrets from this web site. It is often so brilliant plus full of a lot of fun for me and my office fellow workers to search your site at minimum three times in one week to find out the newest tips you have got. And lastly, I’m also usually fascinated with all the great ideas you serve. Certain 2 ideas on this page are undeniably the most impressive we have all had.

    Posted by whiplash remedies | March 16, 2011, 3:41 pm
  14. I bookmared your site a couple of days ago coz your blog impresses me.-;;;;

    Posted by Electric Burner | March 16, 2011, 5:10 pm
  15. Pretty thought-invoking post – raises some interesting points for debate. I just stumbled upon your blog this morning and wanted to say that I have really liked browsing some of the posts. Anyways, I’ll be subscribing to your feed and I hope to read more very soon!

    Posted by Jenya D. | March 16, 2011, 10:38 pm
  16. Hey great stuff I agree with it but I’m sure some others wouldn’t be so quick to support these points. Well written. Thanks.

    Posted by cellulean review | March 17, 2011, 2:55 am
  17. I don’t know if I completey agree with a couple of your statements, but you know there is always a need for this. I enjoyed your stuff keep it up.

    Posted by dubturbo review | March 17, 2011, 7:08 am
  18. Exactly how did you figure all this out about this topic? I enjoyed reading this, I’ll have to visit other pages on your site straight away.

    Posted by Funny Warning Sriskers | March 17, 2011, 11:32 am
  19. Hi there, I found your blog via Google while searching for a related topic, your site came up, it looks good. I have bookmarked it in my google bookmarks.

    Posted by h miracle | March 17, 2011, 5:17 pm
  20. To tell you the teuth, I was passing around and come across your site. It is wonderful. I mean as a content and design. I added you to my list and decided to spent the rest of the weekend browsing. Well done!

    Posted by fake url | March 17, 2011, 8:48 pm
  21. First-class news it is really. I have been seeking for this content

    Posted by Home Generators | March 17, 2011, 8:52 pm
  22. Hi there, I found your blog via Google while searching for a related topic, your site came up, it looks good. I have bookmarked it in my google bookmarks.

    Posted by magniwork electricity generator | March 18, 2011, 8:00 am
  23. Well, another blogger already posted a topic like this.:’;;-

    Posted by Smoke Detector | March 21, 2011, 4:35 am
  24. Post very nicely written, and it contains useful facts.

    Posted by Gologan | March 22, 2011, 3:09 pm
  25. I would really like you to become a guest poster on my blog.”-‘~

    Posted by Melatonin | March 23, 2011, 1:56 am
  26. I just put the link of your blog on my Facebook Wall. very nice blog indeed.*.,.,

    Posted by Varicose Veins Treatment | March 24, 2011, 5:41 am
  27. Hi, this post is really good and helpful to my site. I have linked to your blog here. http://www.zhoushibiao.com/?page_id=508

    Posted by VAG K Commander V3.6 | March 24, 2011, 6:23 am
  28. I love blogging and i can say that you also love blogging.-`:`’

    Posted by Letter Tray | March 24, 2011, 8:18 am
  29. Oh i really envy the way you post topics, how i wish i could write like that.*”.:”

    Posted by Eating Disorder Treatment | March 24, 2011, 2:54 pm
  30. The thing i like about your blog is that you always post direct to the point info.’:;;’

    Posted by Circuit Breaker | March 24, 2011, 5:09 pm
  31. What I want to know is why I should care? I mean, not to say that what youve got to say isnt important, but I mean, its so generic. Everyones talking about this man. Give us something more, something that we can get behind so we can feel as passionately about it as you do.

    Posted by buy Keflex | March 25, 2011, 12:38 pm
    • It’s a fair point Ms Buy Keflex but it’s still important for business owners to be given help where it’s needed – even if it’s not glamorous or exciting.

      Posted by BusinessAdvantage | March 25, 2011, 9:16 pm

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Pingback: Small Business Blog » » How To Utilize Small Business Opportunities - March 20, 2011

