//
you're reading...
Business News

OBR Raises Concerns For UK Economic Growth

OBR Raises Concerns For UK Economic Growth

OBR Raises Concerns For UK Economic Growth

British small businesses and consumers could still be in for a rough time of things, according to the Office for Budget Responsibility (OBR).

The OBR has revealed that rising inflation levels are likely to severely jeopardise the recovery of the British economy.

Current OBR projections suggest that economic growth will rise to almost 3% over 2013, however, many city analysts believe that this could be rather optimistic, given the rate of growth at the moment.

Stephen Nickell, of the OBR’s Steering Committee, has stated that unless the level of inflation drops in 2012, forecasted growth will be seriously undermined.

Commenting on the price of oil, Mr Nickell, said:

“Embedded in our forecasts is the notion that oil prices won’t continue to rise. The biggest risk is that they continue rising, in which case inflation won’t fall back in 2012 as we expect and consumption would be weaker.”

The OBR believe that consumer confidence will be key to driving the economic recovery, however, with the current rate of petrol costs consumer confidence still appears some way off, at least in this humble blogger’s opinion!

On a more positive note, small business owners will be releaved to hear that the Budget, revealed last week, showed a significant reduction in the corporation tax rate as well as an announcement of new “Enterprise Zones” throughout the UK. Whether this will be enough to encourage small business growth is yet to be seen.

Discussion

37 thoughts on “OBR Raises Concerns For UK Economic Growth

  1. After study a few of the weblog posts on your web site now, and I really like your manner of blogging. I bookmarked it to my bookmark web site listing and will be checking back soon. Pls check out my website online as well and let me know what you think.

    Posted by sterownik pompy ford | March 27, 2011, 2:44 pm
  2. Great stuff from you, man. Ive read your stuff before and youre just too awesome. I love what youve got here, love what youre saying and the way you say it. You make it entertaining and you still manage to keep it smart. I cant wait to scan more from you. This is really a great website.

    Posted by easy url | March 28, 2011, 3:32 am
  3. Well, another blogger already posted a topic like this.-`”:;

    Posted by Electronics Engineering Forum | March 28, 2011, 4:53 am
  4. I just added your RSS Feed on my RSS reader, it is so nice to read your blog.~`”,`

    Posted by Satin Panties | March 28, 2011, 6:50 am
  5. Good to see you back again. And again through an interesting post.

    Posted by Minda Hopson | March 28, 2011, 8:55 am
  6. Thanks a lot for your concern and efforts! This stuff on your website is wonderful. At the same time I greatly understand your ideas. In my position these are very important details. Nevertheless thank you. Good read.

    Posted by mieszkania | March 28, 2011, 10:19 am
  7. Hey friend can i publish some paragraph of your article on my little blog of university.I have to publish a good articles out there and i really think your post Fits best into it.I will be grateful to give you an source link as well.I have two blogs one my own and the other which is my college blog.I will publish some part in the university blog.Hope you do not mind.

    Posted by Eula Lanzarotta | March 28, 2011, 12:21 pm
  8. I don’t normally comment on blogs.. But nice post! I just bookmarked your site

    Posted by Benton Jeffs | March 28, 2011, 12:21 pm
  9. Hey There. I found your blog using msn. This is a really well written article. I’ll make sure to bookmark it and return to read more of your useful information. Thanks for the post. I will certainly return.

    Posted by Lenora Putcha | March 29, 2011, 12:41 am
  10. I agree with you also it absolutely seeing guide lot of people.

    Posted by Darrel Puddy | March 29, 2011, 6:07 am
  11. Very well said, your blog says it all about that particular topic.,…`

    Posted by Foam Insulations | March 29, 2011, 8:18 am
  12. I’ll right away grab your rss as I can’t find your e-mail subscription link or newsletter service. Do you have any? Kindly let me know in order that I could subscribe. Thanks.

    Posted by Glenn Muell | March 29, 2011, 8:45 am
  13. I’m a blog crazed person and i love to read cool blog like yours.;-*.”

    Posted by Led Spots | March 29, 2011, 12:13 pm
  14. Wow, you seem to be very knowledgable about this kind of topics.;.”,~

    Posted by Gear Knobs | March 29, 2011, 1:58 pm
  15. I discovered your blog website on google and verify a few of your early posts. Continue to keep up the very good operate. I simply extra up your RSS feed to my MSN Information Reader. In search of ahead to reading extra from you in a while!…

    Posted by mail.com | March 29, 2011, 7:01 pm
  16. I discovered your weblog site on google and check just a few of your early posts. Continue to keep up the very good operate. I just extra up your RSS feed to my MSN Information Reader. Seeking ahead to reading extra from you later on!…

    Posted by window replacement | March 31, 2011, 1:31 am
  17. very enjoyable read i have learnt a lot from this post

    Posted by carpets | March 31, 2011, 8:18 am
  18. This blog is fantastic.I would like to introduce this nice website to my friends.please

    Posted by download | March 31, 2011, 4:11 pm
  19. After examine a couple of of the blog posts on your website now, and I really like your manner of blogging. I bookmarked it to my bookmark website record and will probably be checking again soon. Pls take a look at my website as effectively and let me know what you think.

    Posted by bosch vp44 | April 1, 2011, 10:24 am
  20. I started to follow your blog

    Posted by lezbiyen videolarý | April 1, 2011, 5:47 pm
  21. We fully appreciate your blog post. You will find hundreds of methods we could put it to decent use with minimum effort on time and capital. Thank you so much for helping make this post answer many queries we have encountered before now.

    Posted by Anibal Wise | April 1, 2011, 8:33 pm
  22. I don’t normally comment on blogs.. But nice post! I just bookmarked your site

    Posted by Stop Dog Barking | April 2, 2011, 5:05 am
  23. Spot on with this write-up, I really assume this web site wants far more consideration. I’ll most likely be once more to learn way more, thanks for that info.

    Posted by Aquaponics Tilapia | April 2, 2011, 10:23 pm
  24. Amazing! Your blog has quite a few viewers. How did you get all of these people to look at your post I’m jealous! I’m still studying all about posting articles on the web. I’m going to click on more articles on your blog to get a better understanding how to attract more people. Thanks!

    Posted by Mercedes Dapas | April 2, 2011, 10:44 pm
  25. Amazing! This blog looks just like my old one! It’s on a totally different subject but it has pretty much the same layout and design. Great choice of colors!

    Posted by Floyd Bild | April 3, 2011, 3:19 pm
  26. It’s the first time I seach this site and I am really enthusiastic about so many fantastic articles. I think it is just very fantastic.

    Posted by toburn | April 4, 2011, 11:53 am
  27. After study few of the articles on your blog these days, and that i love your method of blogging. I tag it to my favorites internet web site list and can be checking back soon. Please visit my site too and let me grasp your thought.

    Posted by Carlena Scieszka | April 4, 2011, 12:26 pm
  28. Thanks for another informative blog. Where else could I get that kind of information written in such an ideal way? I have a project that I’m just now working on, and I have been on the look out for such info.

    Posted by Mireille Cecena | April 5, 2011, 1:59 am
  29. Thanks! I was a little confused on the topic. Great post.

    Posted by Best Headphones | April 5, 2011, 5:52 am
  30. Hello, glad i found your site. It helped me to understand the topic a bit better.

    Posted by Best Headphones | April 5, 2011, 5:53 am
  31. Thanks for your thoughts. One thing I have noticed is banks along with financial institutions understand the spending patterns of consumers and also understand that the majority of people max away their cards around the holidays. They prudently take advantage of this real fact and start flooding your current inbox and snail-mail box having hundreds of 0 APR credit card offers immediately after the holiday season closes. Knowing that if you’re like 98% in the American general public, you’ll get at the one opportunity to consolidate personal credit card debt and switch balances towards 0 annual percentage rates credit cards.

    Posted by first wedding anniversary | April 5, 2011, 10:47 pm
  32. Not long ago I started a blog, and the information you provide on this site has helped me tremendously. Thank you for all of your time & work. cheers!

    Posted by Jessica Schnarr | April 6, 2011, 3:57 am
  33. I found your blog on yahoo and will bookmark it currently. carry on the good work.

    Posted by Nereida Botdorf | April 6, 2011, 4:09 pm
  34. Interesting article – small businesses certainly have a difficult time ahead of them!

    Posted by Public Liability | April 7, 2011, 10:33 am
  35. Hi. I needed to drop you a quick note to impart my thanks. I’ve been watching your blog for a month or so and have picked up a heap of sound information as well as enjoyed the way you’ve structured your site. I am setting about to run my own blog however I think its too general and I would like to focus more on smaller topics.

    Posted by Dario Jeannoel | April 7, 2011, 7:27 pm
